Go to Top

Frequently Asked Questions on Eligibility

1. Has the eligibility policy changed?

The eligibility policy was revised in November 2013 to align with the new funding model (GF/B30/6); however, the general principles have not changed. The Eligibility determinations are based on the World Bank income classifications (published annually in July) and disease burden estimates from WHO and UNAIDS (received in Q4 2013). The Eligibility list for 2014 will be available in January 2014.

2. Which countries are eligible to request funding for cross-cutting healthy systems strengthening (HSS)?

Applicants can apply for cross-cutting HSS interventions through a disease-specific concept note or separately through a standalone HSS concept note. However, upper-middle income countries which have a ‘high’ disease burden are not eligible to apply separately for cross-cutting HSS funding. Upper-middle income countries are eligible to apply separately for cross-cutting HSS funding only if they have ‘severe’ or ‘extreme’ disease burdens.

3. What is the future of the ‘NGO rule’?

The ‘NGO rule’ remains unchanged. However, the revised policy provides for HIV grants funded under the ‘NGO-Rule’ to receive a grace-period of one allocation period after becoming ineligible due to changes in their income-level classifications (including countries in the ‘high income’ classification).

4. What will be the fate of newly ineligible countries?

Newly ineligible countries/components funded under an existing grant can remain eligible for funding for up to one allocation period. The Secretariat, based on country context and existing portfolio considerations, will determine the appropriate period and amount of funding. These transition measures do not include countries that have graduated to the ‘high income’ classification (unless funded under the ‘NGO rule’).

5. Do countries still have to comply with the counterpart financing requirements?

Yes. All applicants (except Non-CCM and regional applicants) must comply with the counterpart financing requirements, which are (i) to meet the minimum counterpart financing threshold (determined by income level); (ii) to increase government contributions to the disease program and health sector; and (iii) to improve expenditure data.
Minimum thresholds for counterpart financing are based on a country’s income category:

  • Low income: 5%
  • Lower-lower-middle income: 20%
  • Upper-lower-middle income: 40%
  • Upper-middle income: 60%